Book Review | Sacrifice

5:30 AM


Title // Sacrifice
Author // Hanna Winter
Publication Month // January 2017
Publisher // Manilla (Bonnier)
Australian RRP // $29.99 AUD
Genre // Crime, Thriller
synopsis.


The chilling first novel in the Lena Peters series from an exciting voice in crime fiction.
The international bestseller for fans of Nicci French, Sophie Hannah and Karin Slaughter.

He must hunt her down. Kill her. Destroy her . . .

In her very first case, criminal psychologist Lena Peters is confronted with a killer on a murderous vendetta. And though she is unaware, Lena will play a prominent role in his deadly mission, because Lena knows what makes killers tick - she also knows all about obsession, for she has been close to the edge herself.

For now she is the hunter, but soon she will become the hunted.


review.

Sacrifice, by German author, Hanna Winter, is a crime/thriller novel that is a promising start to a series featuring criminal profiler, Lena Peters. It has been translated into English.

Lena Peters has recently moved to Berlin with few personal possession beyond her cat and a desire to succeed in her new job, profiling a prolific serial killer who removes body parts from his victims. Lena has to navigate the murky waters of her new job, colleagues who are less than impressed with her and her prickly boss while trying to solve a crime.

Sacrifice definitely feels like the first book in a series. Winter is clearly trying to develop the characters and background that will play into future books, as a lot of information is given to readers throughout the story. Occasionally some of it felt like it came out of the blue, which slowed my reading pace a bit, but overall it helped form a picture of Lena Peters - a woman who’s seen and dealt with a lot in life, who’s trying to build a career while coping with the family she has left without many support systems for herself. She’s a bit of a one-woman show who slowly begins to build herself a network of people who can help her out.

Parts of Sacrifice are told from the perspective of the serial killer, Artefix; his methods to stalking and kidnapping his victims is creepy, and disturbing. I wish there’d been a bit more from his perspective to up the ante, however it’s a good effort and an interesting insight into the antagonist.

Overall, I enjoyed Sacrifice and look forward to seeing how Hanna Winter develops her characters and stories in the future. A creepy and suspenseful read for all those who love their thrillers. 

3 out of 5 stars.


You Might Also Like

1 comments